top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemitchsmi

Week 8/9 - Catharthis

Like Michigan football, I took a bye week. This write-up will be in reference to the Michigan State game, of course. First, the standings:


1st (tied): Alexx/Pete, 52-35 (6-4)

1st (tied): Madison/Chuck, 52-35 (5-5)

3rd: Mar/Dan, 48-39 (6-4)

4th (tied): Mitch, 47-40 (5-5)

4th (tied): Sue/Garry, 47-40 (5-5)


I just can not make up any ground here. On the plus side, I'm not really losing any ground either. Time for that to change: this week there are 12 picks. Think that's too many or that I'm just adding more chances for me to come back? I don't care. If I can't cheat to give myself wins I'm going to contrive my best situation for winning. You all knew this was coming. You thought this was a pick'em, but we're still just playing Mitch Wins. I'll change all the picks to soccer if I have to. 


At least Michigan is winning.


It wasn't just the bye week that led to my refrain. I wasn't sure what to write about. Is it okay to write about not having anything to write about? Is that engaging for the reader?

The game honestly spoke for itself. It played like a Greatest(or Worstest) Hits of Michigan's recent seasons. The lead up to the game and opening frames, where we clearly look like the better team. The other team just managing to escape those opening frames without loss of limb. Michigan State even had the weather thing going for them again. A costly mistake at the worst possible moment resulted in a tie game. We've all seen this before.


But this is not previous years. This is our year. I know I'm beating a dead horse, but Michigan showed that this year they have the capacity to respond to adversity. I'm beating the dead horse because it was the one thing I've been asking for since the season started. It is the one thing that I would use to evaluate the team. Resilience is the number one predictor for success. Believe it or not, football games are usually won by the better team. Michigan-vs-Michigan State is no exception to that principle--except for that one exception: do not click this link oh my god why did you click that I told you not to click it. Aside from that game, the team that played better, possessed more talent, displayed more resiliency was the winner. I include last year's game in that category. Forget the monsoon: we played bad and by the end of the year we knew we were not a good team. The Paul Bunyan matchup is useful as a barometer of your team. Each team, no matter how overmatched, will fight tooth and nail in this one. The teams are so familiar with each other it's almost like a different level of football game. If you can win this game, you have the potential to do great things. But you must overcome adversity to do so. Like a wild west shootout, this state ain't big enough for the two of us. Will this be your year or their year?



I had to check the spelling of cathartic and in doing so I also read the definition: providing psychological relief through the open expression of strong emotions. I was driving up to see Kellen off before he left for Texas, so I did not get to watch much of this game. I was in the car, listening to the game on the radio. When the call came through for the touchdown, I screamed at the top of my lungs for 10 full seconds. Catharthis: nailed it. If you're into omens, the last time I had that response was when Jordan Poole hit the buzzer beat against Houston. I wish someone had recorded my reaction to that. It was more like 30 seconds and I was running around the house. Following that reaction, Michigan won 3 more games to reach the final.


Beating Michigan State will not provide the ultimate catharthis for Michigan football. Stories do not usually have a single cathartic moment. Really, it's a series of cathartic moments. First was Wisconsin, where Michigan made it clear they were not to be trifled with. Next comes Penn State, where I hope Michigan can return the butt-kicking they received a year ago. Then comes Ohio State. I don't have to tell you that game will be the crescendo of our cathartic opera. If we win, there will be more important games to come, but the Ohio State game is the climax of our story and everything after it is falling action. Sure, winning the national championship will be more significant than beating Ohio State, but the level of emotions that need to be resolved with Ohio State is higher than winning it all. Maybe I'm crazy, but thats how it feels: everything after beating the Buckeyes is gravy.

That being said, beating our conference rivals means that this is our year. Beating the likes of Alabama and Clemson means that this is our year. Small distinction, but meaningful nonetheless. Michigan has a chance to put themselves in a game against those teams. If we win those I'll need to come up with a more powerful word than catharthis. Hopefully Michigan and I didn't peak too soon.


Good luck and Go Blue.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page